NENA News, Press, & Stories...: Home Page

TERT Team Provides Support to Isaac-Affected Louisiana PSAP

Wednesday, September 5, 2012   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Chris Nussman
Share |
On August 30, Louisiana Telecommunicator Emergency Response Taskforce (TERT) State Coordinator Violet Anderson notified National Joint TERT Initiative (NJTI) Co-Chairs Sherry Decker and Natalie Duran of a TERT request for assistance by the St. John the Baptist Parish Sheriff's Office PSAP. The center had been overloaded with requests for service and all the telecommunicators, who were also victims of the storm, had been working non-stop.

The 8 member TERT Team, consisting of 6 members and 2 Team Leaders, provided support for the PSAP staff who were pushing 40 hours on-duty without relief. NENA commends the TERT Team for their extraordinary dedication to service during this crisis.

Isaac TERT Team #1 Members
Roxanna Johnson, Team Leader - Frisco PD
Erika McComis, Team Leader - Bridgeport PD
Chris Ellsworth - Frisco PD
Steven Jones - Bayown PD
Danita Chapa - Lubbock SO
Toye Harmon - Lubbock SO
Janie Arguello - Lubbock SO
Cindy Moorhead - DFW Airport DPS

Learn more about the TERT Program here.
Any individual or agency wishing to send a care package to the 15 telecommunicators of St. John the Baptist Parish, 2 of whom have suffered significant personal losses due to the storm, can do so via the below address: 

St. John Parish Sherriff's Office
C/O Telecommunicators
1801 W. Airline Hwy
Laplace, LA 70068

If you or your agency send a care package, please notify Laura Litzerman.