NENA News, Press, & Stories...: Home Page

New NENA President Urges Industry to Demonstrate “Culture of Commitment” During NG9-1-1 Transition

Thursday, June 21, 2018   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Chris Nussman
Share |

The Tennessee Emergency Communications Board’s Training Coordinator, Jamison Peevyhouse, ENP, begins term as NENA President

 On June 20, at the NENA 2018 Conference and Expo, Jamison Peevyhouse, ENP was sworn in as President of NENA: The 9-1-1 Association’s Board of Directors. He now leads the organization’s more than 13,000 members in advancing NENA’s mission to improve 9-1-1 through research, standards development, training, education, outreach, and advocacy.

After being sworn in, Mr. Peevyhouse addressed the NENA membership and issue a strong call to action for the 9-1-1 community. “Whether you are behind the headset identifying time saving protocols to use on the next call, whether you’re in the backroom deploying a cost-saving solution, whether you’re in the lab testing new interconnections, whether you’re in the administrative office trying to meet those public expectations, or whether you’re in the board room focused on that five-year plan that’s continually evolving – wherever you are in 9-1-1… whatever you do in 9-1-1… whatever your role may be in 9-1-1, we all must exemplify a culture of commitment – commitment to our co-workers, commitment to our community, and, most importantly, commitment to our callers.”

Peevyhouse has worked in 9-1-1 for two decades, working his way up from frontline dispatcher taking 9-1-1 calls to become the director of the Weakley County (TN) Emergency Communications District. Before accepting his current position with the Tennessee Emergency Communications Board, he also served as the director of both the Weakley County Emergency Management Agency and Office of Public Safety.

Peevyhouse has long been a contributor to 9-1-1 on both the local and national levels. In his home state of Tennessee, he serves on the 9-1-1 operations and policy advisory committees of the statewide Emergency Communications Board. At the national level, Peevyhouse is an integral member of the National Public Safety Emergency Telecommunicator Training Working Group that developed recommended minimum training guidelines for 9-1-1 dispatchers across the country. He previously served on the NENA Institute Board, the body that oversees the 9-1-1 industry’s most prestigious professional certification program – Emergency Number Professional (ENP). He was recognized in 2013 as the Tennessee Director of the year and received the Senator Joe Haynes Award for Excellence in 9-1-1 in 2015.

Eight other Board of Directors members were sworn in alongside Mr. Peevyhouse: 1st Vice President, Monica Million, ENP; 2nd Vice President, Gary Bell, ENP; Immediate Past President, Rob McMullen, ENP; Northeastern Director, Erin Malloy, ENP; Southeastern Director, Linda Draughn-Woloski, ENP; Western Director, Charles Cullen, ENP; Canadian Director, Holly Barkwell, ENP; and Private Sector Director, Ron Bloom, ENP.