NENA News, Press, & Stories...: Home Page

Two New Members Elected to Serve on NENA Board of Directors

Tuesday, May 14, 2019   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Chris Nussman
Share |

Jennifer Lanter, ENP elected 2nd Vice President; Daryl Ostendorf, ENP elected North Central Director

Today, NENA: The 9-1-1 Association announced that Jennifer Lanter, ENP of the Loudon County (TN) Emergency Communications District and Daryl Ostendorf, ENP of the O'Fallon (IL) Police Department have been elected by the organizations’ membership to serve on its Board of Directors and help lead the association’s mission to improve 9-1-1 through research, standards development, training, education, outreach, and advocacy.

Lanter, who will ascend to 1st Vice President in 2020 and then association President in 2021, has been a public-safety professional for the past two decades. Active on both the local and national levels, she served as the President of the Tennessee NENA chapter three times and is a past-chair of the Tennessee Emergency Communications Board. She held multiple positions, including President, on the NENA Institute Board, the body responsible for overseeing the association’s Emergency Number Professional certification program.

Ostendorf, who will represent NENA members from the North Central Region on the board, has worked in 9-1-1 since 1993. In 2016, he became the Illinois NENA Region VI Director, representing the interests of twenty-one counties on the Illinois NENA Executive Board. Also, he is a Co-Chair of the Illinois Telecommunicator Standards and Certification Committee, a body dedicated to seeing legislation enacted that would bring standardized training to all telecommunicators in the state.

Incumbents retained their seats in the two other board elections, with Erin Malloy, ENP and Holly Barkwell, ENP continuing to serve in the positions of Northeastern Director and Canadian Director respectively.

Lanter, Ostendorf, Malloy, Barkwell and six other Board of Directors members will be sworn in on June 18 at the NENA 2019 Conference & Expo in Orlando, FL: President Monica Million, ENP; 1st Vice President, Gary Bell, ENP; Immediate Past President, Jamison Peevyhouse, ENP; Southeastern Director, Linda Draughn-Woloski, ENP; Western Director, Charles Cullen, ENP; and Private Sector Director, Ron Bloom, ENP.