William E. Stanton Award

Award Recipients

1999 - William E. Stanton, ENP
2000 - George Heinrichs
2001 - Billy Ragsdale
2002 - Barb Thornburg, ENP
2003 - Bob Gojanovich, ENP
2004 - Bernard Brabant
2005 - Laverne Hogan
2006 - Jeff Rogerson
2007 - Tom Breen, ENP
2008 - Norm Forshee, ENP
2009 - Eric Parry, ENP
2010 - Doug Edmonds, ENP

2011 - Jim Goerke
2013 - John Ellison
2014 - Mary Boyd, ENP
2015 - Delaine Arnold, ENP
2016 - Robert Cobb, ENP
2017 - Stephen O'Conor, ENP
2018 - Pete Eggimann, ENP


The William E. Stanton Award is bestowed upon an individual who has not only excelled in his or her everyday job, but has gone above and beyond to further the goals of the National Emergency Number Association (NENA).

The Award, which debuted in 1999 at the NENA Annual Conference, is named for the first recipient and long-time Executive Director of NENA.

The William E. Stanton Award is a lifetime achievement award and replaces previous NENA 9-1-1 Service Awards.

Nomination Criteria

  • Must be a voting NENA member in good standing.
  • Must be nominated by a NENA member in good standing.
  • Must have demonstrated lifetime or career-length dedication, integrity and service with respect to the mission, goal, and objectives of NENA.
  • Must have demonstrated vision, value and leadership to NENA and public safety through their commitment, professionalism, work ethic and contributions.
  • Must have achieved exceptional, recognized  and sustained results with respect to public safety and 9-1-1, with an impact on a national scale.
  • Contributions should be beyond those provided to their chapter and in support of national significance.
  • Nominator must document evidence of the individual’s verifiable actions and accomplishments in the area of their work with NENA and 9-1-1.
  • The items submitted should provide detailed information regarding the long lasting importance to NENA, 9-1-1 and the public safety industry and value of the accomplishments directly resulting from the individual's contribution, leadership, or service.
  • Nominations must be received by NENA no later than close of business on the last business day of March.
  • Nomination Form below

Award Criteria

The NENA Executive Board will determine the recipient of the William E. Stanton Award as nominated by the NENA membership and presented by the NENA Nominating Committee. The Stanton Award will be presented if an appropriate nomination is made. If an appropriate nomination is not made, no award will be given.

Instructions for Submitting Nominations

Indicate your nomination on the form provided below (photocopy as necessary). Please provide all information requested. Return to the address provided with appropriate documentation for each nomination.

  2019 nomination form - Apply online - Deadline March 27, 2020